Live updates, race results from Austin


Casar declares victory in the 35th congressional district

Democrat Greg Casar declared victory in the Democratic primary election for the state’s 35th congressional district on Tuesday, after election night tallies showed him well ahead of three opponents, including state Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, D-Austin.

“Progressive policies are popular,” Casar said in a statement. “And we’re going to pass them on for the working families of Texas.”

Abbott and O’Rourke win primaries

Gov. Greg Abbott and Democrat Beto O’Rourke won their respective primaries as returns on election night both show insurmountable leads.

O’Rourke declared victory at an event in Fort Worth, telling attendees, “It appears from early feedback that I will be your candidate for Governor of the State of Texas.”

Abbott is running well over the 50% threshold to avoid a runoff, with challengers Don Huffines, a former state senator, and Allen West, the state’s former GOP chairman, far behind. Huffines conceded the race on Tuesday and said he would not contest the final election results.

Shea ahead, Gómez trails in early Travis County results

Incumbent Margaret Gómez was trailing challenger Susanna Ledesma-Woody in a tight race for county commissioner in Precinct 4, according to unofficial returns from early voting in Travis County.

Gómez has served as county commissioner since 1994 and said his goal is to ensure that the $110 million in federal funding the county has set aside for homelessness programs starts flowing into community programs. . Ledesma-Woody, who sits on the Del Valle school board, challenges Gómez from the left, focusing on inequalities in the county, including access to health care.

In Precinct 2, incumbent Brigid Shea has a sizable lead over challenger Bob Libal, according to unofficial early voting returns. Shea took office in 2015 and said his campaign focused on his commitment to tackling climate change and its impacts.

Dyana Limon-Mercado has a big lead over Kurt Lockhart in the race to replace retired county clerk Dana DeBeauvoir, according to unofficial returns from early voting.

Bell-Metereau tops Democratic State Board of Education primary

Democratic incumbent Rebecca Bell-Metereau held a commanding lead in the State Board of Education District 5 Democratic primary, with 76% of the vote in initial early returns.

Members of the State Board of Education set curriculum and textbooks for K-12 public schools, oversee the Texas Permanent School Fund, and have a say in educator certification rules and launch applications new charter schools.

Bell-Metereau flipped the historically Republican district in 2020, and it is expected to remain Democratic following the redistricting.

In the district’s Republican primary, Mark Loewe, a physicist, had a narrow lead of 50% of initial returns against Robert Morrow, a controversial former Republican Party chairman from Travis County.

Dawn Buckingham leads crowded Republican primary for Texas land commissioner

In the Republican primary for Land Commissioner, State Senator Dawn Buckingham of Lakeway led among eight candidates with 45% of the vote in early returns.

In the Democratic primary, Sandragrace Martinez, a mental wellness policy advocate, led the race among four with 32% of the vote in early returns. Jay Kleberg, director of the nonpartisan civic engagement group Texas Lyceum and former associate director of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation, followed closely with 30%.

The Texas Land Commissioner heads the General Land Office, which is responsible for managing public lands and related programs such as the distribution of disaster relief funds, state veterans programs, and school funding public from the rental of state land.

In recent years, the General Land Office has drawn attention for its role in managing the Alamo as some question plans to redevelop the tourist attraction and the historic battle site’s framing in history from Texas.

Texas Lands Commissioner George P. Bush is running for Texas attorney general in the Republican primary.

Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller took an early lead over his two main Republican opponents as the first vote counts began pouring in from the secretary of state’s office after polls closed at 7 p.m. time.

Miller, who was seeking his third term as the public face of agriculture and ranching in Texas, received nearly 60% of the vote in unofficial statements. State Rep. James White of East Texas was second with 31% and Carey Counsil had just over 9%.

On the Democratic side, attorney Susan Hays led Ed Ireson by an 80-20 margin.

As polls closed across Texas at 7 p.m. and early voting results began rolling in to surrounding counties, the Travis County election results site produced an error. The County Clerk’s Office tweeted around 7:40 a.m. that the IT team was working to redirect the Clerk’s website to the main Travis County website, and the results would be released shortly.

Election results were posted shortly after 8 p.m. on the county’s main website.

Acting Clerk Rebecca Guerrero is new to the role — the Court of County Commissioners appointed her in January after longtime county clerk Dana DeBeauvoir retired Jan. 28 after 35 years. Guerrero is not running for the full-time job, despite two Democratic candidates vying for a spot on the ballot in tonight’s general election.

Incumbents lead in Williamson County GOP primaries

In the Williamson County Republican primaries, the three incumbents enjoy a big lead in races for county judge and two commissioner seats after early voting results were released.

Bill Gravell won 61% of the vote in his bid for re-election for county judge against challenger Ryan Gallagher. In both races for county commissioner, incumbent Cynthia Long received 60% of the vote in her race for Precinct 2 against J.T. Cox, while Russ Boles received 64% in his re-election bid against Terri. Romere for the Precinct 4 seat.

With less than an hour remaining at 6 p.m. Tuesday, the Travis County Clerk’s Office reported that more than 62,000 votes were cast in person on primary day.

Travis County polls close at 7 p.m.

As of 4 p.m. Tuesday, the Travis County Clerk’s Office reported that at least 47,000 votes had been cast on primary election day.

The clerk’s office also reminded the public that the polling stations close at 7 p.m.

On Tuesday, Texans choose candidates from major parties for various state and local government seats. Here’s what you need to know before heading to the polls to vote.

Where can I vote? You can find the nearest polling place and verify that you are registered to vote on the Texas Secretary of State’s Voter Portal here. You will be asked to enter your first and last name, date of birth, and the county in which you live; your Texas driver’s license number and date of birth; or your unique voter ID and date of birth.

When you find your voting location, you’ll want to check the website just before you leave, as voting locations can change.

In Travis County, the County Clerk’s Office tweeted Tuesday that “Polls are open until 7 p.m. and you can vote at any of 164 county polling places. Find your most convenient location on”.

Continued: Voter’s Guide: What to Know Before You Vote in the 2022 Texas Primary Election

What should I bring with me to vote? If you vote in person, you will need to bring one of these photo IDs with you:

• Texas driver’s license

• American passport

• Voter identification certificate

• Personal identity card

• Permit to carry a handgun

• Military ID Card

• Certificate of citizenship

Due to new election law, Texans who vote by mail have additional identification requirements. They must include their driver’s license number or the last four digits of their social security number on the envelope containing their ballot. This will need to match the number on their mail-in ballot application.


Comments are closed.