Luxembourg imposes travel restrictions for arrivals from Argentina, Australia and Canada


Citizens of Argentina, Australia and Canada will no longer be allowed to enter Luxembourg, except for essential purposes, after the latter’s government barred them from entry due to the spread of the Omicron variant of the coronavirus.

The decision by the Luxembourg Foreign Ministry follows European Union recommendations regarding temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the EU and the possible lifting of these restrictions, reports

According to the Luxembourg authorities, travelers from the countries mentioned below are exempt from the recent restrictions imposed by the country’s government in order to stop the spread of the Coronavirus and its new strains and are therefore considered epidemiologically safe:

  • Colombia
  • hong kong
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • Macau
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay

In addition, the government has also pointed out that citizens of countries that are not on the list mentioned above will not be allowed to enter the Grand Duchy. However, certain exemptions will be applied.

The Luxembourg authorities have clarified that travelers with an EU residence permit or those who are family members of an EU citizen will be exempt from these entry requirements.

In addition, those who hold a valid vaccination certificate, considered equivalent in Luxembourg, which shows that travelers have completed their Coronavirus vaccination process, and those whose trip is considered essential or who fall under one of the exemption categories. enter this country.

According to figures published by the World Health Organization (WHO), Luxembourg has recorded a total of 150,883 cases of COVID-19 infection and 947 deaths since the start of the pandemic.

Furthermore, the same source indicates that in the past seven days, a total of 16,151 people have tested positive for Coronavirus, while six people have died.

Such figures have led the Luxembourg authorities to tighten their restrictions in order to stop a further increase in the number of infections, as all countries in the European Union have recently been deeply affected by the coronavirus, in particular the Omicron variant.

Previously, the Luxembourg government confirmed that all persons holding a valid vaccination certificate issued by the authorities of Georgia, New Zealand, Serbia and Moldova would be allowed to enter Luxembourg without being subject to additional entry requirements after the Luxembourg government has decided to recognize these countries. certificates.

The Luxembourg authorities have previously called on European governments to introduce uniform rules on COVID-19 certificates in order to facilitate the travel process in the current context of the COVID-19 situation.


Comments are closed.